MEDIATION or MEDITATION

I have just posted this blog without even releasing that I had spelling error – confusion between the 2 words:
Mediation & Meditation: Similar letters use, almost similar pronunciation.
I define: Meditation is to mediate [manage] our selves.
Called it a blessing, I have been asked what is mediation? How does mediation helps? Is it religious focus? What is Mantra? Let me try to break it down:
In Oxford Dictionary :
MEDIATION:
miːdɪˈeɪʃ(ə)n/ noun
 – intervention in a dispute in order to resolve it; arbitration.
“the parties have sought mediation and it has failed”
– intervention in a process or relationship; intercession.
MEDITATION:
mɛdɪˈteɪʃ(ə)n/
– the action or practice of meditating
“a life of meditation”
rarecerebration : “cultivating the presence of God in meditation and prayer”
MANTRA
ˈmantrə/
noun
noun: mantra; plural noun: mantras
– the word or sound a word or sound repeated to aid concentration in meditation (commonly use in Hinduism and Buddhism)
– a statement or slogan repeated frequently
(think of your mission statement; tag lines; what are the Brands tagline)
I have picked up the word “RESOLVE”, i guess many of us have always have this internal conflict – wants over needs, integrity, love for others over self love. Mediating (resolving) our inner conflicts, to find the balance within our mind and our physical body.
Traditional Chinese Medicine – it seeks to find the root of our disease within us and uses herbs to balance the energy flow in us. That is one of the reason why it takes a minimum of 3 months to heal.
Meditation it seeks to resolve and mediate conscious and subconscious mind, to find the balance of emotions via breathing and positive affirmations. We have read many self help books and articles – the constant message is creating a positive mindset and releasing the old mindset or belief system that we held on to.
When one Meditate- it’s all about bringing calmness to once self and being at the present moment in your own space. Some may say – when I sleep, I am already mediating isn’t the same. How many of us actually have a good night rest, the ability to “shut the mind”? For me, before I started on my mediation journey, unless I am so drained physically and mentality then my body will auto shut down for a night sleep (does this sounds like you to)?
For a consecutive for 14 days, diligently having to a couple of easy stretching to loosen up the muscles, diffusing my essential oils for the night, breathing and mediating – allow me to rest with no dreams and deep sleep.  You may ask do I still feel tired – Yes I do, my muscles still aches for sure but my mind is rested and fresh.
My current favorite list of positive affirmation before I start my day, I will pick one of the sentence :
Just for today, I will not worry
Just for today, I will not anger
Today, I will live honestly
Just for today, I will respect the oneness of all life
Just for today, I will be kind to everyone I meet
Just for today, I will show gratitude to all living things
To close my day before I sleep:
I will pick a favorite mantra music or a nature music or a prayer and release my negative thoughts for the days, my fears, my worries – let it go for every breathe I let out – it takes away these negative emotions.
I really hope that I have answered your questions or I would say re-affirmed myself.
*This blog post respects has no association with any religion or denotes any preaching
With gratitude;
Ally Teo
Leave a Reply

